Gallery

Seeking a one-year work placement in the UK

My name is Meron and I am 24 years old, deaf and from Germany. I don’t know if you are the right person to contact, but if not, please forward me to someone who is. Thanks! I am currently looking for a one-year work placement. I’d also like to improve my English skills and gain some abroad experience.
So I wanted to ask if you know some contact addresses or opportunities for work placements, especially for deaf people?
I hope to read from you soon. Thanks in advance.

Meron

Deafauntie says:
You don’t need a work placement to improve your English – it’s already pretty good! Having said that, working abroad will certainly give you new experiences. You need to treat this like a job application and think what kind of work experience you’d like.
Then google deaf organisations in the UK who can offer the kind of experience you are looking for. You can email your CV and a covering letter saying why you’d like to work for the organisation. Are you looking for a paid or unpaid work placement? You will need to make that clear in your application.
Do you have a deaf friend or contact already here in the UK who can tell you where to look and ‘show you the ropes’? Perhaps you could stay with them and then start looking? If not, you could stay at a YMCA, like the one in London.
I should warn you – it is tough looking for jobs in the UK. Good luck!

Leave a comment

